Ipsy and Birchbox review – September 2016

Ipsy and Birchbox are both a monthly subscription for $10 a month. You will get 5 samples. Ipsy leans more towards makeup where Birchbox gives a lot of hair/skin care. So depending on what you’re more into, you can choose which one you want to sign up for. I personally love both of them. Ipsy will give you a lot of full size or deluxe size samples. Birchbox gives packets of samples (sometimes) and deluxe size samples (mostly.) When you sign up for both, you will get asked a series of questions to create a profile. They use your answers to the questions to create a bag or box for you. I’ve definitely gotten some misses with Ipsy, but more times than not I’m using everything I’m given. What I love about Birchbox is that for every 100 points you get (when you review your products you get points) it equals $10 in their shop. You can buy anything on their site! With Ipsy, you can redeem your points (by reviewing your products) for products that ship with your next bag. First up will be Ipsy.


Every month your Ipsy will come in this hot pink envelope. Inside will be a card that correlates with the theme of the month & your bag. For September the theme is GLAMAZON


✨Be a Bombshell Cosmetics nail polish in VA VOOM *13.5 ml* (full size!) $6

This color is perfect for this time of year. I applied two coats. It goes on smooth but does chip easily. 


EAU THERMALE Avene Hydrating serum *5 ml* full size: $38

This is a serum you use day and night to enhance your skin care regimen. It’s light and feels gel like on your face. It keeps the skin hydrated for 24 hours. I would probably just continue using a moisturizer but if you want that extra step in your skin care routine this is perfect. This is great for dehydrated, sensitive skin. 


BUFF HER House of Exfoliation foaming food facial scrub in vanilla almond crumbles *9 oz* full size: $25

I was SO excited to get this. It has a very light almond smell nothing overpowering. It’s a great sample size also.. I will definitely have enough for a couple of weeks. You scoop out a little bit on your wet hands and apply to your face in circular motions. My face felt so clean after using this and soft! It’s recommended for ALL skin types & 100% organic. They use ingredients such as: poppy seeds, vanilla bean, honey, bananas, etc. If that doesn’t sound amazing enough already… $1 is donated for each 1.5 oz bottle sold to Children’s Hunger Fund. LOVE this stuff. I’m going to post a picture of what it looks like below.



Bellapierre Cosmetics mineral blush in autumn glow *0.21 oz* full size: $45

I never use a mineral blush or a loose blush so I was a little skeptical. You really need the tiniest amount for your cheeks. This little sample could last forever. It’s very pigmented. I think it would look better on a darker skin tone not for someone who’s fair. I do love the color and the formula. I will post a picture below of a swatch. 



Too Faced lip injection extreme *0.05 oz* full size: $28

Another product I was way too excited to try this month. This brand always has the prettiest packaging. When you look at the gloss it has a light reflecting shine to it. This is a great product especially when everyone is going crazy over plump lips. Within seconds of applying this, my lips were tingling… and warm. It does feel very nourishing, not sticky at all. Collagen booster: plumps lips up to 40% fuller while increasing lip moisture up to 60% long term. Marine Sponge: adds the appearance of up to 20% more volume. Great product!! Now for the fun part… the results! 👄

Before:

After:

Birchbox


Like Ipsy, Birchbox has a theme every month. This month is all about multitaskers. It comes in a cute box with a card. One side has a note and the other lists your products with a description and the price. 


TokyoMilk Dark Pretty Rotten perfume sample *full size: $42

The name can really throw you off… on the inside is a picture of a bitten apple. I was actually pleasantly surprised to like this. It reminds me of Snow White for some reason. Definitely an Autumn scent or Winter. The notes are-Ambrosia Apple, Amber Queen Rose, Mandarin, Forest Greens. 


COOLA Classic Face SPF 30 Cucumber Moisturizer *.24 fl oz* full size: $32

I love the smell of this moisturizer. I also love the SPF factor. It’s lightweight and you wouldn’t even notice you applied it! 


NUXE Reve de Miel Facial Cleansing and Make-Up Removing Gel *0.50 fl oz* full size: $19 

Let’s talk about the smell of this first. It smells like honeysuckle to me. It’s pretty strong, not gonna lie. If that doesn’t bother you, this stuff is great. It doesn’t really lather too much but my skin felt soft after using this. 


Milk Makeup Ubame Mascara *0.25 fl oz* full size: $24

I LOVE this mascara! I’m a sucker for a good mascara (what lady isn’t, right?) 💁🏼 but there’s just so many good things to say about this mascara. First, it has a triple-ball applicator which makes it super easy to get the corner lashes. Get this… it’s infused with ubame oak charcoal & sapphire dust for added volume and color! It makes my lashes long and gives volume. What I love the most is that it makes my lashes feel super soft. Highly recommend! 


Beauty Protector Protect & Blonde Toning Shampoo *full size: $23

This is the only product I haven’t tried yet. I will update the blog once I’ve tried it. I use a purple shampoo on my hair every 2 weeks. This brand is an exclusive to Birchbox. I have tried their hair oil and detangler and I absolutely love them both. It smells like candy and lingers in your hair! Their products are vegan and paraben free. 
Hope you ladies enjoyed! 

–💋

Leave a Reply

